Ignacio Sanz nominated to join AAP

Ignacio Sanz, MD

Ignacio Sanz, MD (director, Emory University Division of Rheumatology) was recently nominated by his peers to join the Association of American Physicians (AAP). The AAP is a non-profit professional organization founded in 1885 by seven physicians, including Drs. William Osler and William Henry Welch, for “the advancement of scientific and practical medicine.” The AAP is composed of leading senior physician scientists who are competitively selected. Currently, they have more than 1,700 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada, and other countries.

The goals of the AAP include the pursuit of medical knowledge and advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science, as well as their application to clinical medicine. Each year, individuals who have attained excellence in achieving these goals are nominated for membership by the Council of the Association. Their election gives them the opportunity to share their scientific discoveries and contributions with their colleagues at the annual meeting.

Dr. Sanz’ election recognizes his contributions to the study of human autoimmune diseases and, in particular, the role of autoantibodies, B cells, and plasma cells in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus. In addition to lupus, Dr. Sanz’ research bears important implications for the treatment other autoimmune diseases, as well as allergy and organ transplantation. Dr Sanz’ work also has applications to the enhancement of vaccine responses and cancer immunotherapy.

More about the AAP

The AAP was founded in 1885 by seven physicians and now includes more than 1,300 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada, and other countries.

More about Dr. Sanz

A board-certified practicing rheumatologist with major emphasis on SLE, Dr. Sanz was chief of the Division of Immunology and Rheumatology at the University of Rochester from 1996 until his move to Emory in April of 2012. Since 2012, he has served as the Mason I. Lowance Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, chief of the Division of Rheumatology, director of the Lowance Center for Human Immunology, and the Georgia Research Alliance Distinguished Scholar in Human Immunology. Learn more

Related Links

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.

Be the first to comment on "Ignacio Sanz nominated to join AAP"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.