Residents present at conferences across the country

Tina Varghese, MD presenting at Georgia ACP

Emory University Department of Medicine residents dominated the 2015 Georgia American College of Physicians (ACP) meeting.   Seven of our residents presented posters or oral presentations including:

  • Stef Alexopoulos, MD, 1st place
  • Rachel Bean, MD
  • Lorraine Caffuir, MD, 3rd place
  • Kajal Patel, MD (oral presentation)
  • Tina Varghese, MD
  • Iris Wang, MD
  • Andrew Webster, MD
Stef Alexopoulous, MD

Stef Alexopoulous, MD

Iris Wang, MD

Iris Wang, MD







Our residents also presented at other conferences including:

We are proud of all of our outstanding residents!

More about Emory University Department of Medicine Residency Program                             

Emory’s J. Willis Hurst Internal Medicine Residency Program, led by program director Lorenzo Di Francesco, MD, FACP, offers several residency training pathways, including:

Over the course of a residency training program, residents participate in a broadly based educational curriculum that emphasizes achieving complete competence in general internal medicine and allows for balanced experiences in all internal medicine subspecialties.

Emory University Department of Medicine residents train at four Emory-affiliated teaching hospitals:


About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.