Griffiths and Hepburn awarded NIH funding

Patricia Griffiths, PhD, MS

Patricia Griffiths, PhD, MS


Kenneth Hepburn, PhD

Congratulations to Patricia Griffiths, PhD and Kenneth Hepburn, PhD who have been awarded funding from the National Institutes of Health to test Tele-Savvy, an on-line psychoeducational program for informal Alzheimer’s caregivers. This trial, built on the evidence-based platform of the Savvy Caregiver Program, provides a virtual education and support program to family members who are caring for Alzheimer’s patients at home. The caregivers provide sustained and sophisticated care that, were it not in the hands of laypersons, would require the skills of nurses, occupational therapists, social workers and other professionals. The goal is to reduce caregiver stress, improve the quality of life for both patients with Alzheimer’s and their caregivers, and enhance caregiver mastery and self-management behaviors. The trial also seeks to examine and refine the program’s efficacy across three racial/ethnic groups (African Americans, Caucasians, and Latino/Hispanics).

Learn more about Dr. Griffiths’ work with caregivers in article “Self-care is the caregivers most critical task“.

Related Links

If you are interested in investing in research, clinical care, and/or education within the Emory University School of Medicine’s Division of General Medicine and Geriatrics, learn how you can help.


About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.

Be the first to comment on "Griffiths and Hepburn awarded NIH funding"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.