Call for proposals: AME Teaching Innovations Grant


The Emory University Department of Medicine’s Academy of Medical Educators (AME) was developed in 2011 to identify, recognize, and honor master teachers, to develop and implement innovative education tools/programs, and to mentor and train aspiring educators who will act as role models for other faculty.

Award Description

The Teaching Innovations Grant Program, initiated in 2013, provides $2,500 of support to innovative teaching at the undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate, or faculty level within the Emory University School of Medicine. Grants are open to all Department of Medicine faculty and are available to both individual faculty members and faculty working within a group. Priority will be given to the proposal that most directly impacts education within the department in a sustainable fashion.

Funds can be used to support teaching initiatives, including, but not limited to:

*   Developing innovative courses or curricula

*   Developing an education research initiative

*   Implementing innovative teaching methods

Key Dates

Proposals will be accepted from March 15 through May 15, 2016 at midnight EST and should be emailed to Meghan Lane. You should expect to receive a confirmation email regarding receipt of your proposal.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

All faculty with a primary appointment in the Department of Medicine are eligible to apply. A single faculty member must be identified as the key contact and project leader.

Grant proposals will be judged on the basis of five criteria:

  1. Intellectual and/or creative merit
  2. Organization and clarity of the proposal
  3. Project outcomes and projected impact on education within the department
  4. Potential contribution to medical education research
  5. Appropriateness of the budget—inter-divisional and inter-departmental proposals are encouraged

The maximum length of the application is three pages (not including bibliography) and should include the following:

  1. A description of the teaching innovation with goals and objectives, outline of course content, educational strategies, and evaluation methods
  2. A timeline for project development and implementation
  3. Proposed future directions, including plans for dissemination of lessons learned
  4. Name and contact information of mentor (if applicable)
  5. A budget


Funds will be made available to the awardee starting September 1, 2016. The funds may NOT be used for faculty/trainee salaries or travel. They may be used for:

  1. Course materials
  2. Consultation and support for project development and implementation
  3. Data collection and analysis


Awardees will be required to provide a six-month project update and a report at one year that must include:

  1. A summary of the educational innovation
  2. Project evaluations of the new approach and how it impacted learning
  3. Future directions related to the innovation, including plans for education scholarship related to the innovation

Previous Awardees

2014: W. Randy Hunt, MD, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, “A Formalized Curriculum for Critical Care Ultrasonography”

2015: Mikhail Akbashev, MD, Division of General Medicine and Geriatrics, “A Randomized Study of Resident and Medical Student Understanding of Non-invasive Hemodynamic Monitoring With and Without Online Interactive Cases”

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.