Kim Schofield receives Lupus Foundation of America’s Education, Support and Advocacy Award

Emory Division of Rheumatology employee Kim Schofield was the recipient of the Lupus Foundation of America (LFA) Education, Support and Advocacy Award for her advocacy efforts on behalf of the Georgia Chapter. Schofield received the award at the annual LFA national meeting in Washington, DC last week.

Schofield is a long-time employee of the Division of Rheumatology and is a lupus patient herself. She spearheaded the movement that led to Georgia’s first annual Lupus Awareness Day a few years ago. In addition, Schofield successfully obtained a state budget line for lupus awareness and educational funding. She is a tireless advocate on behalf of lupus patients.

Emory’s Division of Rheumatology, led by Ignacio Sanz, MD, pursues excellence in patient care, along with clinical, basic science, and quality of life research in lupus. Lupus clinical care is delivered through state-of-the-art clinics with the Emory Clinic and Grady Memorial Hospital.

The Lupus Foundation is devoted to solving the mystery of this chronic autoimmune disease as well as supporting those who suffer from its impact. Emory is proud to partner with the Lupus Foundation in supporting care, research, and awareness efforts for lupus.

Related Links
Emory Division of Rheumatology
Emory University School of Medicine
Lupus Foundation of America

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.

Be the first to comment on "Kim Schofield receives Lupus Foundation of America’s Education, Support and Advocacy Award"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.