2017 Celebratory Grand Rounds honorees

Please join us in congratulating the Department of Medicine’s 2017 Faculty and Staff Award recipients, announced at Celebratory Grand Rounds.

View photos from the reception

View award criteria and previous winners


Educator Impact Award

Eric Honig, MD


Nanette K. Wenger Distinguished Service Award (3 winners total)

Assistant Professor:

Jonathan Colasanti, MD, MSPH

Associate Professor:

Aneesh Mehta, MD


Ighovwerha Ofotokun, MD


Outstanding Clinician Award

Molly Eaton, MD


Outstanding Quality Achievement Award

Divya Gupta, MD


Outstanding Scientific Citation Award (4 winners total)

Basic Research- Junior Faculty

Bum-Yong Kang, PhD

Clinical/Translational Research- Junior Faculty

Yih-Ling Tzeng, PhD, MS

Basic Research- Senior Faculty

David Weiss, PhD

Clinical/Translational Research- Senior Faculty

Charles Searles, MD


Wayne Alexander Excellence in Research Accomplishment Award

Monica Farley, MD


Shanthi V. Sitaraman Silver Pear Mentorship Award

Clinical Educator

Joanna Bonsall, MD, PhD, SFHM


Colleen Kraft, MD


The Academy of Medical Educators “Teach 12” Award

Frederic Rahbari, MD, MS


Hidden Gem Award

George Chang, MD

Stephan Goebel, MD

Danielle Jones, MD

Janet Klein, PhD, MS

Chris Knudson, MD

Aliza Lipson, MD

Rachel Friedman-Moraco, MD

Srihari Veeraraghavan, MD

Neale Weitzman, PhD




2017 Staff Awards:

Department of Medicine Leadership Excellence Award

Sandra Talley


Department of Medicine Unsung Hero Award

Rita Frazier


Department of Medicine Excellence in Innovation Award

Marcus Urquiaga


Department of Medicine Outstanding Service Award

Alia Kamel

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.

Be the first to comment on "2017 Celebratory Grand Rounds honorees"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.