2017 Staff and Faculty Award nominees

Please join us in congratulating our 2017 Department of Medicine Staff and Faculty Award nominees. Winners will be announced at Celebratory Grand Rounds on Tuesday, June 27 at 11:45 a.m. in the Emory University Hospital auditorium (2E).

DOM Leadership Excellence Staff Award

  • Alia Kamel (Administration)
  • Sandra Talley (Cardiology)
  • Marcus Urquiaga (Renal Medicine)
  • Lauren Wheeler (Cardiology)

DOM “Unsung Hero” Staff Award

  • Thedis Carries (Education/Residency Program)
  • Bonnie Chappell (Renal Medicine)
  • Melanie Elder (Renal Medicine)
  • Rita Frazier (Administration)
  • Katharine Heika (Infectious Diseases)
  • Hannah Joy (Administration)
  • Alice Muson-Wood (Pulmonary. Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine)
  • Marcela Santamaria-Appling (Endocrinology)
  • Danielle Terrell (Education/Residency Program)

DOM Excellence in Innovation Staff Award

  • Elizabeth Faidley (Cardiology)
  • Marcus Urquiaga (Renal Medicine)

DOM Outstanding Service Staff Award

  • Sarah Cristofaro (Digestive Diseases)
  • Carla Fairclough (Digestive Diseases)
  • Antonina Foster (Infectious Diseases)
  • Alia Kamel (Administration)
  • Paula Massey (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine)
  • Gail Snell (Cardiology)
  • Sandra Talley (Cardiology)
  • Danielle Terrell (Education/Residency Program)
  • Marcus Urquiaga (Renal Medicine)

Academy of Medical Educators’ “Teach 12” Faculty Award

  • Anna Von (Hospital Medicine)
  • Frederic Rahbari (Renal Medicine)
  • Tanvi Dhere (Digestive Diseases)

Educator Impact Faculty Award

  • Andro Kacharava (Cardiology)
  • Eric Honig (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
  • Julia Massaad (Digestive Diseases)
  • N. Wilson Holland (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Sudha Tata (Rena Medicine)

Nanette K. Wenger Distinguished Service Faculty Award (Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, and Professor categories)

  • Joanna Bonsall (Hospital Medicine)
  • Jason Cobb (Renal Medicine)
  • Jonathan Colasanti (Infectious Diseases)
  • Divya Gupta (Cardiology)
  • Stamatios Lerakis (Cardiology)
  • Edward Levert (Digestive Diseases)
  • Aneesh Mehta (Infectious Diseases)
  • Ighovwerha Ofotokun (Infectious Diseases)
  • Ugochi Ohuabunwa (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Frederic Rahbari (Renal Medicine)
  • Tanveer Rab (Cardiology)
  • Laurence Sperling (Cardiology)
  • Bryan Wells (Cardiology)

Outstanding Clinician Faculty Award

  • Molly Eaton (Infectious Diseases)
  • Rina Eisenstein (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Danielle Jones (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Steven Keilin (Digestive Diseases)
  • Minh Nguyen (Infectious Diseases)
  • Stephen Pastan (Renal Medicine)
  • Alvaro Velasquez (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)

Outstanding Quality Achievement Faculty Award

  • Jason Cobb (Renal Medicine)
  • Divya Gupta (Cardiology)
  • Mohamed Seedahmed (Hospital Medicine)
  • Melissa Stevens (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Camille Vaughan (General Medicine and Geriatrics)

Outstanding Scientific Citation Faculty Award (Basic and Clinical/Translational categories)

  • Madeleine Hackney (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Imran Iftikhar (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
  • Bum-Yong Kang (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
  • Young-Mi Go Kang (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
  • Colleen Kelley (Infectious Diseases)
  • Janet Klein (Renal Medicine)
  • Faisal Merchant (Cardiology)
  • Jeanie Park (Renal Medicine)
  • Francisco Pasquel (Endocrinology, Metabolism and Lipids)
  • Stephen Pastan (Renal Medicine)
  • Charles Searles (Cardiology)
  • Yih-Ling Tzeng (Infectious Diseases)
  • Xiaonan Wang (Renal Medicine)
  • David Weiss (Infectious Diseases)
  • Field Willingham (Digestive Diseases)

R. Wayne Alexander Excellence in Research Faculty Award

  • Vasilis Babaliaros (Cardiology)
  • Mark Czaja (Digestive Diseases)
  • Monica Farley (Infectious Diseases)
  • Mike Koval (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
  • Susan Wall (Renal Medicine)

Shanthi V. Sitaraman Silver Pear Mentorship Faculty Award (Clinical Educator and Research area)

  • Joanna Bonsall (Hospital Medicine)
  • Dhaval Desai (Hospital Medicine)
  • Kathy Griendling (Cardiology)
  • Ted Johnson (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Colleen Kraft (Infectious Diseases)
  • Greg Martin (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
  • Shanthi Srinivasan (Digestive Diseases)

“Hidden Gem” Faculty Award

  • Janet Klein (Renal Medicine)
  • Stephan Goebel (Digestive Diseases)
  • Srihari Veeraraghavan (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
  • Rachel Friedman-Moraco (Infectious Diseases)
  • George Chang (Cardiology)
  • Aliza Lipson (Rheumatology)
  • Neale Weitzman (Endocrinology, Metabolism and Lipids)
  • Danielle Jones (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
  • Chris Knudson (Hospital Medicine)

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.

Be the first to comment on "2017 Staff and Faculty Award nominees"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.