2016 Nanette K. Wenger Service Award winners

Nanette K Wenger award winners

Emory Department of Medicine faculty members Wendy S. Armstrong, MD, FIDSA, FACP (Infectious Diseases); Octavian Ioachimescu, MD, PhD (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine); and Maura George, MD (General Medicine and Geriatrics) were awarded the prestigious Nanette K. Wenger Service Award at our 2016 Celebratory Grand Rounds ceremony. The Wenger Award is presented to Department of Medicine faculty who have demonstrated outstanding service to and citizenship of the Department of Medicine over the course of their careers. This award is given to members of each faculty rank (assistant professor, associate professor, and professor).

Professor of Medicine – Wendy S. Armstrong, MD, FIDSA, FACP (Infectious Diseases)

wenger-armstrong“She has a strong commitment and dedication to education, and it is impressively interwoven with her service at Emory, regionally and nationally.”

“Under her dedicated service and leadership, the fellowship program at Emory has grown in stature and reputation and is considered one of the top fellowships in the country.”


Associate Professor of Medicine – Octavian Ioachimescu, MD, PhD (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)

ioachimescu-wenger“Dr. Ioachimescu has worked tirelessly to build (from the ground-up) the sleep medicine section at the VA into one of the largest within the national VA system. It has transformed the care of veterans it serves as well as creating a superb training site for the new sleep medicine fellowship at Emory University.”

“He has been the consummate triple-threat academician, engaged in clinical research, teaching, and leadership in patient care.”

“It is impossible to overstate the time, energy, commitment, and intellectual engagement that he has dedicated to building the sleep medicine section at the Atlanta VA.”

Assistant Professor of Medicine – Maura George, MD (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
george-wenger“Dr. George has plunged into the work of educating Emory’s learners in all ways related to advocacy for and providing quality service to economically underserved populations. She is an integral member of the Social Medicine Working Group.”

“She is so dedicated to the welfare of patients and nourishing altruistic values in young students that I feel she is uniquely valuable as a faculty member for the department at Grady and Emory.”

View more photos from Celebratory Grand Rounds

Related Links

*If you are interested in investing in research, clinical care, and/or education within the Emory University Department of Medicine, please visit our website to learn how you can help.

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.