Congratulations to our 2016 Faculty Award winners


Emory Department of Medicine Chair David S. Stephens, MD and our 2016 Department of Medicine Faculty Award winners

Please join the Emory University Department of Medicine in congratulating the 2016 Faculty Award winners. Photos from this year’s Celebratory Grand Rounds are available on the Department of Medicine’s Facebook page.

Academy of Medical Educators’ “Teach 12” Award
Clifford J. Gunthel, MD (Associate Professor, Infectious Diseases)

Educator Impact Award
Dustin Smith, MD (Associate Professor, Hospital Medicine)

Nanette K. Wenger Distinguished Service Award
•   Assistant Professor – Maura George, MD (General Medicine and Geriatrics)
•   Associate Professor – Octavian Ioachimescu, MD, PhD (Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)
•   Professor – Wendy Armstrong, MD, FIDSA, FACP (Infectious Diseases)

Outstanding Clinician Award
Dhaval Desai, MD (Assistant Professor, Hospital Medicine)

Outstanding Quality Achievement Award
Jesse Jacob, MD, MSc (Associate Professor, Infectious Diseases)

Outstanding Scientific Citation Award (Basic Research – Junior Faculty)
Jau-Yi Li, PhD (Instructor, Endocrinology, Metabolism and Lipids). “IL-17A Is Increased in Humans with Primary Hyperparathyroidism and Mediates PTH-Induced Bone Loss in Mice.”

Outstanding Scientific Citation Award (Clinical/Translational – Junior Faculty)
Jonathan Colasanti, MD, MSPH (Assistant Professor, Infectious Diseases). “Continuous Retention and Viral Suppression Provide Further Insights into the HIV Care Continuum Compared to the Cross-sectional HIV Care Cascade.”

Outstanding Scientific Citation Award (Senior Faculty)
Tanveer Rab, MD (Associate Professor, Cardiology). “Cardiac Arrest, a Treatment Algorithm for Emergent Invasive Cardiac Procedures in the Resuscitated Comatose Patient.”

R. Wayne Alexander Excellence in Research Accomplishment Award
Arshed Quyyumi, MD, FRCP, FACC (Professor, Cardiology)

Shanthi V. Sitaraman Silver Pear Mentorship Award – Research
Mark Mulligan, MD (Professor, Infectious Diseases)

Shanthi V. Sitaraman Silver Pear Mentorship Award – Clinical
Robin E. Rutherford, MD (Professor, Digestive Diseases)

Juha P. Kokko Teaching Award
Jeff Lennox, MD (Professor, Infectious Diseases)

Joyce P. Doyle Award
Wendy Armstrong, MD, FIDSA, FACP (Professor, Infectious Diseases)

Golden Apple Teaching Award
•   Emory University Hospital Midtown – Ketino Kobaidze, MD (Assistant Professor, Hospital Medicine) and Dan Sorescu, MD (Associate Professor, Cardiology)
•   Emory University Hospital – Dan Hunt, MD, FACP (Division Director, Hospital Medicine) and Maan Jokhadar, MD (Assistant Professor, Cardiology)
•   Atlanta VA Medical Center – Anna Von, MD (Assistant Professor, Hospital Medicine) and Mark Shumate, MD, MPH (Assistant Professor, Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology)
•   Grady Memorial Hospital – Lorenzo DiFrancesco, MD (Professor, General Medicine and Geriatrics) and Michael Connor, Jr., MD (Assistant Professor, Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine)

Best Medicine Grand Rounds
Martha Arellano, MD (Associate Professor, Emory Department of Hematology and Medical Oncology). “Advances in Acute Myeloid Leukemia.”

Best Conference
Kimberly Manning, MD (Assistant Professor, General Medicine and Geriatrics); Jen Spicer, MD (Chief Resident); and Lucas Golub, MD (Chief Resident). “BST (Bite-Sized Teaching) Mode.”

Academy of Medical Educators’ Teaching Innovations Grant
Krysta Johnson-Martinez, MD (Assistant Professor, Hospital Medicine) and Anne Tomolo, MD, MPH (Associate Professor, General Medicine and Geriatrics). “An Interactive Patient Safety Curriculum.”

Awards included a monetary gift and an inscription on a commemorative plaque, which were awarded at the department’s annual Celebratory Grand Rounds ceremony on Tuesday, June 21, 2016. Award details, eligibility, and required nomination materials can be found on the Faculty Development Web page, along with a list of previous recipients and photos. Please contact with any questions.


Related Links

*If you are interested in investing in research, clinical care, and/or education within the Emory University Department of Medicine, please visit our website to learn how you can help.

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine

The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine’s medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care.

The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.