James P. Steinberg receives 2015 Beeson Award

The Paul B. Beeson, MD Faculty Recognition Award was established in honor of Dr. Paul Beeson’s outstanding contributions to the developing field of infectious diseases and as chair of the Emory University Department of Medicine from 1946 to 1952.

Each year, the Beeson Award is given to a Division of Infectious Diseases faculty member whose influence and reputation are exceptionalnationally and internationallyin education, service, and/or scholarship.

James P. Steinberg, MD was presented the 2015 Beeson Award for serving 26 years on the Division of Infectious Diseases faculty, with contributions to patient care, medical education, hospital epidemiology, quality, and hospital administration.

Dr. Steinberg is currently a professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, chief medical officer at Emory University Hospital Midtown, and associate dean of clinical services at Emory University Hospital Midtown.

Dr. Steinberg’s research interests include antibiotic resistance and the epidemiology and prevention of health-care-associated infections, including surgical-site infections and intravascular device-related infections.

Previous winners

More about Dr. Beeson

Paul Beeson, MD arrived at Emory in 1942, when infectious diseases was first emerging as a recognized specialty, blood transfusions were a new procedure, and penicillin was not yet readily available. Few faculty were engaged in full-time research, and The National Institutes of Health (NIH) were mainly focused on war-related treatments.

Dr. Beeson revolutionized the Emory University Department of Medicine with his high standards of medical education, patient care, and focus on research. He served as chair of the department from 1946 to 1952 and was a pioneer in establishing Emory as the top research, teaching, and clinical institution we know today.

About the Author

Emory Department of Medicine
Emory Department of Medicine
The Emory University Department of Medicine, within the Emory University School of Medicine, is steeped in a rich tradition of excellence. Through the work of its nine divisions and numerous centers and institutes, the department has pioneered discoveries in medicine, education, scientific and clinical investigation, and clinical care. Emory University School of Medicine's medical school, residency, transitional-year, and fellowship programs offer students the latest knowledge in treatment practices, scientific theories, research, and patient care. The Emory University Department of Medicine is a component of the Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University, which includes the Emory schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health; Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Winship Cancer Institute; and Emory Healthcare.